Other Blogs and Flour, Too

While recovering from surgery, I did a lot of Internet searches looking for quick and easy recipes for Bear, my husband to use as he was now the chief bottle washer and cook. I found that though he understood the mechanics of cooking, he wasn’t working smart. I would sit in the kitchen and tell him what to get out, how to line up to use and special tips – like how to temper an egg before adding to hot pudding. One of the sites that I found was Wives With Knives. At least he would appreciate their blog title. They have a Homemade Sandwich Buns recipe which can be made in  60 minutes. No, Bear didn’t make homemade buns, but I did this week.  It was a good and easy recipe which reminded me of hamburger buns that I use to make when my son was a 7th grader. He now teaches high school history, so you know I have had this one awhile.This is a nice sandwich bread although I made the mistake of making 8 rolls which were too large. Next time I will try going with 12 and putting half in the freezer for another time.

homemade buns thanks to Kathy

Homemade Buns in 60 minutes

Thinking about buns reminds me of another of my favorite Internet sites, King Arthur Flour.  You can chat with a Baker and the amount of recipes and information on the site is great. I called once to learn how to make adjustments for using flour instead of the called for cake flour and the gal I talked to was so helpful and friendly.

4 thoughts on “Other Blogs and Flour, Too

  1. And Bear, you’re still married to Nona in spite of having to learn how to temper a frigen egg? Miracles never cease do they? 🙂 Nona’s right…you ARE the sweetest man on earth…but I’ve known that for a very long time ! Nancy these buns looks scrumptious- will have to try them. A good bread, good wine & fresh cut flowers every day…I’m a happy girl!! ~ Dana

  2. Oh, I fogot to ask. How did Ernest make “Red” gravy? We used to pig out on Bacon, Toast, Grits and Red Gravy. Is it the same as cream gravy with a small can of tomato sauce?~ Dana

    • red Gravy – I will write down the one I do- it is close to mother’s, I promise on Sunday. I have had company since Wednesday. He is going to help Bear wax the table and pedestal we did with chalk paint. they are all approved. I know you included Swint’s cake, but I have to go back to find it.You said put in bread pan per her recipe. Loaf pan for bread or biscuit pan, or 1/4 sheet pan? What do you use.

  3. And Bear, you’re still married to Nona in spite of having to learn how to temper a frigen egg? Miracles never cease do they? 🙂 Nona’s right…you ARE the sweetest man on earth…but I’ve known that for a very long time ! Nancy these buns looks scrumptious- will have to try them. A good bread, good wine & fresh cut flowers every day…I’m a happy girl!! ~ Dana

Leave a Reply

