Belated Happy Thanksgiving

Belated Happy Thanksgiving. Okay, I admit I got behind –  way behind on blogging. I had company from Las Angeles and Oregon. We had a wonderful time, but my fatigue level was off the charts.  It took me a couple of days to catch up. Then it was time to start getting ready for Thanksgiving. This year my son and daughter-in-law hosted, so it was a blessing to me. I did turn out two pecan pies, one pumpkin and glazed apple pie bars which were excellent. Oh yeah, I made the cornbread dressing. I really need to write this recipe down so somebody else can take it over. There was one serving of dressing left which I snagged and brought home.

I want to share the glazed apple pie bars as it was a really big hit. Out of 15 people, we had 10 grown men at Thanksgiving, six of them 18 to 20-years-old. Two were college buddies, who could not get home from West Texas to Kentucky, so they came home with Ian. I asked one of them if he could care for a piece of pecan pie, “No’mam, I think I could marry that apple pie bar.” was his prompt reply. Barb told me that he ate  ¾s of the remaining bars after we left. On Saturday morning, we took the boys to eat breakfast tacos, which was a real novelty for them. Doesn’t the rest of the world serve breakfast tacos? When Ian ordered bean and cheese tacos, they were amazed anyone would eat beans for breakfast. I explained that with Mexican food, beans come with all three meals. Only in San Antonio.

Here is the recipe for Glazed Apple Pie Bars at Wives With Knives. The crust recipe is the same that I use with the exception I use 5 tablespoons of water to her 3 tablespoons. You have to read the blog for the apple pie ingredients as she only lists the crust recipe in a printable format.. This pie crust recipe makes three crusts, a double and 1 single or 3 singles. Since I had 3 crusts, I decided to expand the pie from a 13 X 9 x 1  to a 15 X 9 X 1 pan to handle to crowd we were having. Worked out great.  Glazed Apple Pie Bars.

Here is a really easy Pumpkin Pie recipe: This is a really smooth, good textured custard .I believe this is the 45th year I have used this recipe. Make the Never Fail Pie Crust Recipe, preparing one single crust in a pie pan.

Never Fail Pie Crust

 Ingredients

3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1-1/3 cup shortening
1 egg, slightly beaten
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
5 tablespoons cold water

Instructions
Combine flour and salt. Cut in shortening with a pastry blender until dough is
crumbly and the size of small peas. I guess I should break down and buy a pastry blender. For years I have used two table knives in a crisscrossing motion and it has always worked for me. Just keep crossing knives and working the shortening in.

Combine egg, water and vinegar and add to flour mixture. Mix with a fork until dough sticks together. Depending on the size of the egg, it sometimes seems sticky, but knead once or twice on the floured surface will correct this.

Roll out on well-floured board to desired thickness and ease into 9 ” pie pan. You can wrap the two remaining crusts and refrigerate two or three days or freeze up to 3 months.

Pumpkin Pie

Ingredients for Pumpkin Pie

 Ingredients

1 9″ pie shell unbaked

2 cups (16 oz)  canned pumpkin. I use Libby’s plain pumpkin without spices.

1 can Eagle Brand™ condensed milk

1 egg

½ teaspoon salt

½ tsp nutmeg

½ teaspoon ginger

¾ teaspoon cinnamon.

Instructions

Blend together all ingredients in large mixing bowl. Turn mixture into pie shell. Bake at 375°F until sharp bladed knife inserted near center comes out clean, 50 to 55 minutes.

Now for the granddaddy of all old fashion pies from scratch. Ta-da Pecan Pie.. It has a very light and creamy custard with the pecans rising to the top.

Pecan Pie

Ingredients

Whisk together:

3 eggs

3/4 cup sugar

1/3 tsp salt

1/3 melted butter, cool slightly not to cook eggs

1 cup white Karo™ syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix in:

1 cup or more chopped pecans.

Bake 40-45 minutes at 375°F in an unbaked pie shell. The very center may be slightly soft, but will continue to cook as it cools.

4 thoughts on “Belated Happy Thanksgiving

  1. The apple bars some like my apple pie spread out. I can believe they’re delicious. Do you use the baking stones? I never have.

    • no, I keep thinking I will get one for pizza, but Bear recently bought a pizza tin with holes in the bottom which makes it brown. A stone is just one more thing to store.

  2. Pingback: Cooking In My Scottie Dogs « The Great Dorset Vegetable Experiment

Leave a Reply

